According to recent data, 12 percent of employees have experienced sexual harassment in the workplace. Among these victims, many simply remain silent. A survey conducted by CareerBuilder reveals that more than 7 in 10 employees who endure sexual harassment in a work environment do not report the event. In addition, more than half of sexual harassment victims do not confront their perpetrator.
ASU professor stripped of title amidst past sexual misconduct allegations
Under the microscope of sexual misconduct accusations from a job he held decades ago, former Arizona State University professor Ron Carlson has had his honorary title removed by the school. The Arizona Board of Regents revoked the professor’s title in an unprecedented move. He was stripped of the honorary “regents professor” designation – a distinction provided to only the most proficient and skilled professors in the state. Among the three state universities, only a handful of faculty members are given this title each year.
From 1986 to 2006, Carlson taught at ASU. According to regents’ documents, he ultimately directed the creative writing program at the school. From his position at ASU, he later taught at the University of California at Irvine until he stepped down in August 2018 after the misconduct allegations were publicized.
The alleged student victim of Carlson, according to the report, confronted Carlson a number of years after she graduated. The report states that Carlson did not refute the claims that he abused her, but instead appeared to blame his actions on drinking.
Arizona laws regarding sexual harassment in the workplace
State and federal sexual harassment laws can apply in the state of Arizona. Title XII governs companies with more than 15 employees. In such cases, a sexual harassment complaint is filed with the EEOC. If you have been sexually harassed in a company with fewer than 15 employees, Arizona State laws apply and you may file a complaint with the Arizona Civil Rights Division.
Your attorney may advise you to apply with one agency or the other depending on your specific case. In Arizona, for harassment to apply, the sexual attention exhibited must be “unwanted” attention – in other words, the individual receiving the attention must indicate clearly he or she does not want the attention. Both the EEOC and Arizona Civil Rights Division have a 180 day statute of limitations on filing sexual harassment cases.
You also have the option Arizona file a sexual harassment claim that is a tort claim or a personal injury claim. You may also have other file claiming options, including a wrongful discharge claim if your employer fired you after you made a complaint about sexual harassment and abuse.
Sexual harassment and abuse claims against teachers in Arizona
Students and parents generally place their trust in teachers, extracurricular activity instructors, and coaches to conduct themselves properly and have their best interests at heart. However, when this trust is violated, one of the options available to the victim is to hold the individual offender, which may include the school, school district, or university, legally responsible. Experienced sexual harassment attorneys understand that students have every right to be treated with respect and remain free from any form of sexual advance or pressure within the teacher-student relationship.
If you have been the victim of sexual harassment, sexual abuse, or sexual assault, our Phoenix injury attorneys can help. At Plattner Verderame, P.C., we can help you make a claim in civil court. We work hard to hold the perpetrators of sexual abuse accountable for their actions. To arrange a free consultation about your case, call our law office today at 602.783.8793 or complete our contact form.